View Current Progressive Dairyman Digital Edition

Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame voting open now through Aug. 4

PDF Print E-mail
News - Industry News
Friday, 20 April 2012 15:19

Five individuals, representing more than 200 years of service in cattle production medicine, have been selected by their peers as nominees for the Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame.

The Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame was established in 2011 to celebrate the rich traditions of production veterinary medicine by honoring the exceptional men and women who have made lasting contributions to the veterinary profession. “This year’s nominees are true pioneers in cattle production medicine,” said Mark Spire, D.V.M., technical services manager for Merck Animal Health. “Each nominee deserves this prestigious award because of how his work has changed the landscape of the industry.”

Five organizations sponsor the hall of fame including the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP), the Academy of Veterinary Consultants (AVC), Bovine Veterinarian, Merck Animal Health and Osborn & Barr.

The voting process
Inductees will be selected by their peers and all AABP and AVC members are eligible to vote for one beef and one dairy veterinarian. Voting began April 13 during the AVC business meeting in Washington, D.C.

Voting will continue until Aug. 4 through the following methods:
  • In person at the AVC summer conference, August 2-4 in Kansas City, Missouri
  • On the AABP or AVC websites

One beef and one dairy veterinarian will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at a banquet Sept. 22, during the annual AABP convention in Montreal. The award winners will join inaugural inductees Drs. Harold Amstutz and Dan Upson in the Hall of Fame.

Dairy nominees

Dr. Lee Allenstein was born in Lamont, Iowa, and received his veterinary medical degree from Iowa State University. He practiced for more than 40 years in Whitewater, Wisconsin, where he was known as “Doc.”

An expert in progressive veterinary medicine, he wrote more than 350 columns for Hoard’s Dairyman. He was a driving force in establishing the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine, where he later became a clinical professor and faculty associate.

He earned the Student Chapter AVMA Clinical Teacher Award in 1991 for his contribution to student laboratory teaching, clinical practice skills and business management.

Dr. Allenstein served as World Dairy Expo’s chief veterinarian for more than 25 years and continued to assist until his death in 2011. He was an honorary member of the World Dairy Expo Klussendorf Society, National Dairy Shrine Guest of Honor, and AABP Practitioner of the Year.

Dr. Jim Jarrett, a Georgia native, earned his bachelor’s degree from Berry College in Rome, Georgia, and his veterinary medical degree from the University of Georgia. After practicing for five years, he worked for the state of Georgia, developing one of the first milk-quality programs in the nation.

He later returned to private practice and established a dairy-production consulting business.

Dr. Jarrett was a widely-known expert in milk quality, dairy nutrition and reproductive management. He co-founded the AABP Quality Milk Pre-conference Seminar and was active in the World Buiatrics Association, AVMA and AABP. He also served as AABP president and executive vice president.

Dr. Jarrett received many awards, including AABP Practitioner of the Year, the Amstutz-Williams Award and Georgia Veterinary Medical Association Veterinarian of the Year.

Dr. Elmer Woelffer grew up on a family farm in rural Wisconsin. He received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and his veterinary medical degree from Cornell University.

After graduation, he worked as a farm manager and veterinarian for H.P. Hood & Sons and Pabst Farms. He then entered private practice, retaining Pabst Farms as a client. He remained a private practitioner in Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, until his death in 1995.

Many consider Dr. Woelffer the father of bovine reproductive programs. He integrated sound scientific principles into reproductive programs and authored a herd-health column in Hoard’s Dairyman.

He was a member of the AVMA Executive Board and Professional Liability Trust.

He received numerous awards, including the AABP Award for Excellence in Dairy Preventative Medicine and the Amstutz-Williams Award. He also was an honorary lifetime member of the AABP.  PD

—From Merck Animal Health news release


Add comment

If you're having trouble commenting, email editor@progressivedairy.com to have your comment added.


About Us | Subscribe | Advertise | Contribute | Contact Us | Industry Stats | Progressive Forage Grower | Progressive Cattleman

Copyright 2013 Progressive Dairyman

This site is optimized to be viewed with Firefox, Safari and Internet Explorer 8 web browsers.