Current Progressive Dairy digital edition

December 11, 2012 issue: Industry Honor Roll

PD Staff Published on 07 December 2012

• Veterinarians specializing in dairy cattle were recognized during the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) annual conference. AgriLabs presented its Dr. Bruce Wren Dairy Continuing Education Award to Dr. David Hudson, who works with dairy cattle in Missouri. Dr. Steve Wadsworth was recognized as the Dairy Quality Center’s Veterinarian of the Year. Jim Jarrett, DVM, was posthumously inducted into the Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame.

• Also at the AABP conference, 15 U.S. veterinary students were recognized as 2012 recipients of the AABP Foundation – Pfizer Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarship Fund. In addition, University of California – Davis student Alex Glover won third place in the research summaries competition for the presentation of project data from her master’s degree program. Her project was a clinical trial testing treatment for diarrhea in Holstein calves.



• At the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB)/ National Milk Producers Federation (NMPF)/ United Dairy Industry Association (UDIA) joint annual meeting, NDB honored G. Joe Lyon, a dairy producer from Toledo, Iowa, as the 2012 recipient of the Richard E. Lyng Award. PD

From AgriLabs, Dairy Quality Center, Merck Animal Health, Pfizer Animal Health, UC – Davis and Dairy Management Inc. news releases