Current Progressive Dairy digital edition

February 7, 2014 issue: Industry Honor Roll

Published on 06 February 2014

• Paul Ekstein of Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada, was selected by the Klussendorf Association as the fifth recipient of the Robert “Whitey” McKown Master Breeder Award, which recognizes a well-managed breeder herd that has been successful at showing and judging and emphasizes all qualities of the Klussendorf Award, including ability, character, endeavor and sportsmanship.

• FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative awarded 24 scholarships to students in the Midwest last year, totaling $28,000. Recipients included Derek Fenner; Tyler Fenner; Taylor Granquist; Micaela Haas; Kelsey Haelfrisch; Jordan Hammerand; Mark Harm; Jennifer Huhe; Chelsey Johnson; Jacob Johnson; Valerie Kramer; Cody Lubben; Tiffanie Meyers; Chelsea Rahm; Caleb Riedeman; McKenzie Rowley; Taylor Shoen; Dylan Siewert; Audrey Souza; Karoline Twardokus; Bridget Vandertie; Kyle Viland; Brett VonRuden; and Alex Zellmer.



• The 2013 Outstanding Dairy of the Year was presented to Gamlake Dairy of Petaluma, California, with the Edward J. Maddalena Memorial Trophy during Farmer’s Day at the Sonoma County Fair. Fifth-generation farmers Frank and Stacey Gambonini are celebrating 100 years of their Gamlake Dairy in Petaluma. PD

—From Klussendorf Memorial Association and FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative news releases, and summarized by PD staff from article