Current Progressive Dairy digital edition

2019 award winners spotlight dairy’s drive for sustainability

Progressive Dairyman Editor Dave Natzke Published on 06 June 2019
2019 sustainablity award winners

The Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy’s eighth annual U.S. Dairy Sustainability Awards were presented during a ceremony on May 8 in Rosemont, Illinois.

Through creative problem solving, this year’s winners addressed environmentally beneficial production practices and resource and energy reduction, all while filling the essential role of bringing quality dairy nutrition to food-insecure populations.



The annual program honors dairy farms, businesses and partnerships for socially responsible, economically viable and environmentally sound practices. Award winners represent U.S. dairy’s commitment to sustainability, demonstrating how transparency and ingenuity lead to sustainable and scalable practices that benefit their businesses, communities and the environment.

Three farms – Cinnamon Ridge Farms of Donahue, Iowa; Majestic Crossing Dairy of Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin; and Philip Verwey Farms of Hanford, California – were recipients of Outstanding Dairy Farm Sustainability awards (links to stroies below). While the individual dairy farm winners take unique paths to sustainability, they share some commonalities. All meet national FARM (Farmers Assuring Responsible Management) Animal Care standards and have completed or are in the process of completing FARM’s Environmental Stewardship module.

In addition to the Outstanding Dairy Farm Sustainability honorees, General Mills and Foremost Farms were recognized for Outstanding Dairy Supply Chain Collaboration, and Gleaners Community Food Bank was recognized for Outstanding Community Impact (links to stroies below).

“This year’s winners show how innovation and creativity sparked by one farm, one person or one organization can have a ripple effect that goes well beyond their farmgate or front door,” said Barb O’Brien, president of the Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy. “Each winner exemplifies our industry’s values. They demonstrate that caring for the environment, our cows and our communities is our heritage and what we stand for every day.”

Nominees are evaluated based on their economic, environmental and community impact. Innovation, scalability and replicability are also considered.  end mark


PHOTO: Winners of the eighth annual U.S. Dairy Sustainability Awards announced by the Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy are, front row from left, Kathryn Cardoza and Shelley Verwey (Philip Verwey Farms), Joan Maxwell (Cinnamon Ridge Farms), Cortney VanOeffelen (VanOeffelen Farm Services), Dean Strauss (Majestic Crossing Dairy), Nicole Zammit (Gleaners Community Food Bank); back row, from left, are: Frank Cardoza and Philip Verwey (Philip Verwey Farms), John Maxwell (Cinnamon Ridge Farms), Craig Metz (EnSave Inc.), Kevin O’Donnell (General Mills), Josh Luth (Foremost Farms), Kris Strauss (Majestic Crossing Dairy), Bridget Brown, Stacy Averill and Julie Beamer (all Gleaners Community Food Bank). Photo courtesy of the Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy.

Cinnamon Ridge Farms:
Majestic Crossing Dairy:
Philip Verwey Farms:
General Mills and Foremost Farms:
Gleaner Community Food Bank:

Dave Natzke
  • Dave Natzke

  • Editor
  • Progressive Dairyman
  • Email Dave Natzke